It’s official; Virat Kohli to lead India in the short formats


It’s official; Virat Kohli to lead India in the short formats

BCCI has officially declared Virat Kohli as the new skipper for the upcoming ODI and T20 series against England. The decision after Dhoni decided to step down as the captain of the India’s ODI and T 20 teams.  Kohli’s promotion as the limited overs captain is not a surprise as he is already captaining India’s test team. It was expected that Kohli would be the successor of the captain cool butt the official declaration was yet to come. However, with BCCI’s official announcement, it is obvious that Kohli will now lead the team in all the threev formats. The selection committee also unveiled the team for the series against England. Though he has relinquished the captaincy, Dhoni is a part of the squad and this was also expected as Dhoni had informed BCCI that he is available for the selection. Yuvraj Singh made his return to the ODI squad after a considerable time.

The ODI squad includes Virat Kohli (capt), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja , , Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav,  Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav and Jasprit Bhumrah. Suresh Raina is included in the T 20 squad and Rishabh Pant makes his debut in the T20 format.  T20 squad consists of Virat Kohli (capt), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant and Manish Pandey,. The selection committee has commented that they have tried to put together the best possible team. They also revealed that Virat Kohli joined the selection meeting through Skype.India had won the test series against England and it was after eight years, India had won a series against England. The series win helped India to retain the top spot. India will be looking to extend the dominance in the ODI and T 20 series as well.



Comments are closed.