R.Ashwin honoured with the cricketer of the year award.


R.Ashwin honoured with the cricketer of the year award

International Cricket Council has rewarded R. Ashwin with the coveted Cricketer of the Year and the Test Cricketer of the Year award. Ashwin is the third Indian player to receive the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy. Rahul Dravid and SachinTendulkar are the other two Indian players who have won this award. Ashwin is at the peak of his career after claiming 48 wickets in eight Tests this year at an average of 15.39. He has also made some contributions with bat and has accumulated 336 runs. He also holds the top position the ICC rankings for test bowlers. Ashwin starred in the recently held test series against England by picking up 28 wickets from 5 tests. Ashwin did not play many one day matches but his T-20 record is pretty impressive. He has taken 27 wickets at an average of 15.62 and has an economy of 6.29.

The ICC Spirit of Cricket Award went to Misbah-ul-Haq and Quinton de Kock bagged the ODI Cricketer of the Year award.  Marais Erasmus procured the ICC Umpire of the Year award and Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman earned a spot in the list as the emerging cricketer of the year.  Carlos Brathwaite won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year for his performance in the World T20 final.Ashwin is also included in the test team of the Year. Alastair Cook is selected as the captain of the ICC Test XI. This would be the third time Cook is elected as the captain of the test XI team. Virat Kohli is named the captain of the ODI team; however, he is excluded from the test team, which came as a surprise to the fans.